Clarkshaws

clarkshaws

Perhaps surprisingly, cask ale (mostly) isn't vegetarian-friendly. The use of finings (made from fish innards) to clarify the beer means more fastidious flesh-avoiders cannot partake - or, at least, couldn't. There's an increasing number of breweries that don't use isinglass (fish guts to you), among whose number can be found Clarkshaws. It's a bold move, not least because in most other ways their beer is quite traditional: it's made with all-British ingredients. The co-operative brewery, Beer Hive, is based in the same space.